Skip to main content

Quick Start

A quick guide to getting started with centron S3 Object Storage – creating buckets, uploading files, managing permissions and securely deleting buckets.

Prerequisites

Creating a bucket

Create a bucket: In Control Panel, click on ‘Create’ in the top right-hand corner and then on ‘S3 Bucket’.

Uploading and deleting files

To upload a file:

Add files: In the "Files" tab of your bucket, you can add files using drag and drop. To use the file selection tool, click "Upload Files".

Set permissions: Once you have selected your files, choose their permissions. By default, they are set to ‘Private’.

Upload file: Click on "Upload File".

To delete a file:

Delete file: Click "Delete" in the file’s "More" menu.

Confirm deletion: Confirm the deletion.

Managing file permissions

Check permissions:

You can check the permissions for files in your bucket by hovering your mouse over the file name. The tooltip that appears shows the permission, which is either ‘Public’ or ‘Private’.

Change permissions: To change a file’s permissions, click ‘Manage Permissions’ in the file’s ‘More’ menu. Select ‘Public’ or ‘Private’ and click ‘Update’.

Creating and deleting folders

Create a new folder: Click on ‘New Folder’, enter a name for the folder and click on the blue tick.

Upload folders: Click on "Upload File" and then drag and drop folder structures.

Delete folder: Click ‘Delete’ in the folder’s ‘More’ menu and confirm the deletion. All contents of the deleted folder will also be deleted.

Deleting a bucket

  • Delete bucket: In the "Settings" tab for your bucket, select "Destroy". Click the red "Destroy" button and then the red "Confirm" button. This will delete the bucket and all its contents.