Skip to main content

Delete VMs

Deleting a ccloud³ VM will permanently and irrevocably delete it. Optionally, you can also destroy a ccloud³ VM and its associated snapshots, volumes and volume snapshots.

To save one or more of the backup images, convert the backup into a snapshot before deleting the ccloud³ VM.

Deleting a ccloud³ VM does not delete its automated backups. Automated backups remain for four weeks after they are created and then expire. To save backup images, convert the backups into snapshots.

Prerequisites

Destroy the ccloud³ VM in the Control Panel

To destroy a ccloud³ VM via the Control Panel, open the "More" menu of the ccloud³ VM and click on "Destroy". Alternatively, you can click on the name of the ccloud³ VM to go to its main page and select ‘Destroy’ from the menu on the left.

On the ‘Delete’ page, in the ‘Delete ccloud³ VM’ section, click the ‘Delete the ccloud³ VM’ button.

ccloud³ VM Destroy Page

In the confirmation window that appears, you can choose whether to delete the ccloud³ VM. If the ccloud³ VM has associated resources, you can also choose to delete some or all of them, but they are not deleted by default.

Tick the boxes next to the relevant snapshots, volumes or volume snapshots of the ccloud³ VM that you wish to delete along with the ccloud³ VM.

Confirmation window for deleting the ccloud³ VM and its associated resources

Enter the name of the ccloud³ VM in the text box and then click ‘Delete’ to delete the ccloud³ VM and all selected associated resources.

Any resources that you do not delete will appear in their respective categories in the ‘Manage’ section of the Control Panel.